Have you ever played against someone who had a character you didn't even know existed? That was me for months. I was stuck with the starter characters while everyone else was using Tatsumaki, Garou, and other crazy unlocks. I thought maybe I just wasn't good enough. Turns out, I was just playing wrong.
My Stats Before I Changed (Embarrassing)
- Months played: 8
- Characters unlocked: 2
- Times I rage quit: Too many to count
- Money spent: $0 (I was stubborn)
I was proud of the $0 part, but the 2 characters in 8 months was sad.
What I Changed
1. I Stopped Playing Randomly and Started Grinding Quests – I used to just play matches and hope to unlock characters. Then I realized there's a quest system. Each character has specific quests you need to complete. I was ignoring them. Once I started focusing on quests, I unlocked my third character in one weekend.
2. I Learned the Combo System – I thought combos were for tryhards. Then I watched a YouTube tutorial and spent an hour in training mode. My win rate went from 40% to 65%. More wins = more XP = faster unlocks.
3. I Used Codes (Finally) – I used to ignore the codes because I thought they were for free skins or something. Turns out, some codes give XP boosts and in-game currency. I missed months of free progress because I was too lazy to check the wiki.
4. I Found a Practice Partner – This was huge. I found someone on Discord who was also trying to improve. We sparred for an hour every day. I learned way faster than playing random matches.
⚡ Want to Unlock Characters Faster?
If you don't want to grind for months, there's a faster way. I use BloxCart when I want a specific character and don't have time. Thousands of players use it. Link below if you want to see.
Get Characters Fast →✅ Instant delivery • Trusted by thousands • Updated March 2026
The Quest That Almost Broke Me
Tatsumaki's unlock quest required 50 kills with her special move. I spent a week trying to get those kills. I'd get close, then lose. I was stuck at 47 kills for three days. I almost gave up. Then I figured out that you can practice the move in training mode. It doesn't count for the quest, but it helped me get consistent. The next day, I got the last 3 kills in one match.
After that, I started looking up quest requirements before even trying. Some quests are way easier than others. I prioritized the easy ones first. That's how I got Garou – his quest was just "win 10 matches in a row with any character." I didn't even have to use him.
Where I Am Now
After 6 months of playing smart instead of grinding randomly, I have 9 characters unlocked. I'm still missing a few of the hardest ones, but I'm getting there. My win rate is around 70% now. Not pro level, but way better than where I started.
The biggest lesson? Playing the game is fun, but playing with a plan is way more rewarding.
One More Option
Look, not everyone has time to grind quests for months. Some people just want to try a specific character without the wait. I get it. That's why I sometimes use BloxCart when there's a character I really want and don't have time to unlock the normal way. It's not free, but it's fast.
If you want to grind for free, my method above works. If you want it now, the link above works too. Either way, you can get the characters you want.
If you're into anime fighting games, you might also like my RIVALS skin guide – different game, same idea of unlocking.
— Alex
P.S. The new update added two new characters. I'm still working on unlocking them. Wish me luck.
Reader Discussion
The quest system is so underrated. I was ignoring it for months. Thanks for pointing it out!
The practice partner tip is gold. I found someone on Discord and my skill jumped so fast. Thanks!
Leave a comment